DEAR FEMME FORTE,

Words cannot express the depth of pride I feel on this beautiful day. My ka heart is so full and my love for you is never ending. How are you six years already? How have you blossomed into this beautiful soulful space in so short a time? The past five years have been incredible, its such an honor to serve and steward you.

Throughout every stage of your development, I have learned and unlearned a ton of things, you have humbled me. I remember the first time I held you in my dreams like it was happening today, the fear of such a big dream, the anxiety of whether it will ever be, the naïve curiosity, the unrivalled excitement, all the mixed emotions, the pain and joy of birthing is in-printed on my heart. 

I have watched you dare to be different in a world that seeks to conform. You have pushed me beyond the bourne of my understanding, borne fruit both in and out season, colored your own world and stuck to your gut and for that I am proud. You have been resilient and endured much, you have grown weary and even fainted on some days and yet your strength has been renewed every time and you continue to stand strong. you have withstood the rains, the winds blowing from every direction, you have wept in the night and sang for joy every morning, I admire your brevity, I am inspired by your courage.

I must admit I am not sure how to raise a six-year old, in fact I am scared to watch you grow this big, but if there is one thing you have taught me, it is that there is so much fun in learning on the job as I parent you. Thank you for allowing me to make mistakes, for letting me find several circles of sisterhood support as we raise you to be what we envisioned. Thank you for drawing people to you, for standing out, for letting me fail forward. 

As you turn a new page on your journey of growth, my prayer is that you;

1. Will remain teachable, always,

2. Will never lose your sense of wonder,

3. Will keep the door open for so many that come after you,

4. Will honor those that have come before you,

5. Will never sell yourself short, stay the course, 

6. Will not give up no matter what. 

I want to honor and thank in a very special way everyone that has invested in your growth thus far. Those that have dedicated time, treasure and Talent to make sure you thrive, those that have mentioned your name in spaces you are not, those that whisper your name to God., and everyone who believes in you. We are where we are today because of our people, our purpose , our values and our commitment to loving women in every way that exists to love

Happy birthday dear one 

Penelope sanyu

Chief steward

2 thoughts on “DEAR FEMME FORTE,

  1. Happy birthday and Bon Anniversary Femme Forte. You are indeed an embodiment of your name.

    Well done! You have defied all odds and stereotypes and emerged a bright and shining St*r. You are beautiful. All that you do is beautiful. We do not see the work, the sweat, the scars, not because there aren’t but we know that this beautiful woman that you are doesn’t come by chance or luck. We honor your work!

    Six down, a life time to go- you are just getting started, it’s scary- they don’t know, the world does not know what is coming at them but they will see it, hear it, feel it and speak about it. You are unstoppable!

    More power and Grace Femme Fort, go yee forth and change the world one life at a time.

    I am proudly associated and will be cheering you on every step of the way.

    Annnd, Penny- you are a GEM! a FORTE! a WHOLESOME being!

    Congratulations!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: DEAR FEMME FORTE, – KeKimuri_writes

Leave a comment